competition Photography2021

The Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year is an annual astronomy photography competition that is organised by the Royal Observatory, Greenwich.
categories :
There are eight different categories for adult photographers (adult entrants must be aged 16 or over):
Aurorae: Photographs featuring the northern and southern lights (Aurora Borealis and Aurora Australis)
Galaxies: Photographs of deep-space objects beyond the Milky Way galaxy, including galaxies, galaxy clusters and stellar associations
Our Moon: Photographs of the Moon, including lunar eclipses and the occultation of stars and planets.
Our Sun: Photographs of the Sun, including solar eclipses and transits.
People and Space: Photographs of the night sky that include people or elements that show the presence or influence of human beings
Planets, Comets and Asteroids: Photographs of objects in our solar system, including planets and their satellites, comets, asteroids and other forms of zodiacal debris
Skyscapes: Photographs of landscapes, seascapes and cityscapes in which the night sky or twilight sky is a prominent feature
Stars and Nebulae: Photographs of deep-space objects in the Milky Way galaxy, including stars, star clusters, supernova remnants, nebulae and other galactic phenomena
There are no separate categories in the Young competition (young entrants must be aged 15 or under). Entries may feature any astronomical subject.

There is no entry fee to participate!

The competition is free to enter

Timeline :
Competition opening date: 11 January 2021 
Competition closing date: 5 March 
Photographers of all skill levels are invited to submit up to 10 images to the competition.
Who may enter ?
Insight Investment Astronomy Photographer of the Year is open to everyone .
The judges will select a winner, runner-up and one highly commended entry from each category.
• Winner: 1,500 GBP
• Runner-up: 500 GBP
• Highly commended: 250 GBP
The overall winner will receive 10,000 GBP and the title of Astronomy Photographer of the Year. Moreover, the judges will also award two Special Prizes: the Sir Patrick Moore Prize for Best Newcomer and the Annie Maunder Prize for Image Innovation. Both winners will receive 750 GBP.
For further information visit the official website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?